A Lover of Home

November 5, 2009

Last night we enjoyed an evening out on the town with good friends. How refreshing it was to eat finger foods, sip some wine, and have real and life giving conversation with some of our favorite people.

Today it’s past noon, and I am still in my pjs with a baby in one hand and my coffee in the other.
Isn’t life good?

It is a treat for me now to go out on a date, have adult time, and have someone else prepare dinner. Still what is it about being home that awakens my spirit?

We do not even live in “our own” house right now, yet there is still no place I would rather be. I am learning that it is not the four walls we live in, the name on the deed, or even familiar surroundings that make a house a home.
Whether I am alone or in the presence of the ones I love, home is where I truly rest and where I am most alive.
A good friend gave me a wooden sign that use to hang in my kitchen (its now in a box) that says.. “Home is Where your Story begins” This couldn’t be more true. Everything that I can offer the world starts first in my heart, and in my home.

P3250731

Watch over your heart with all diligence, for from it flows the springs of life. Proverbs 4:23

One Response to “A Lover of Home”

  1. Mom said

    Beautifully said, “I ditto” your sentiments.
    You have much to offer, because you are allowing
    God to live in you, and that is why you find rest.
    The picture and words could be the cover of a book,
    and I have no doubt will be one day.
    I love you,
    Mom

Leave a Reply

