To be beautiful

May 19, 2010

What is beauty? For years I had it all backwards. I spent much of my time both consciously and subconsciously striving to be what I thought was beautiful. Now I am learning to live in the beauty that is already within me. What is it I want to offer my husband, my daughters, my friends, and this world? What is the message I want to portray, the presence I want to impart, the legacy I want to leave?

As a mother of two young girls my prayer for them is to grow into beautiful young women. Not beauty as the world defines, but really beautiful women that are free to offer their feminity from a heart that is at rest.
Have you ever been around this kind of women? A woman that draws you to rest in God. She is a rare treasure, a diamond in the rough. Circumstances do not define this woman. It is an internal beauty that comes from her intimacy with God. This is the legacy I will chose to leave.

Our Colorado Princess πŸ™‚

2 Responses to “To be beautiful”

  1. Jenny B said

    Pink ruffly dress and hiking boots…I LOVE IT. There is a lot of beauty going on at your house.

  2. Suzy Stark said

    I JUST had this conversation with Kaitlin, for the millionth time, but this time it was her telling ME what I’ve been telling her all along. She gets it now. She sees it. She understands why I tell her she is so beautiful. It’s a great feeling to see your daughter living out what you teach her. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

